Well, the American Math Challenge is over.  Thanks to all the Mustangs in 5th and 6th grade that worked hard to show what Moffitt can do!  Final results will be posted Monday, 10-17; the top 30 students will be invited to participate as an elite "math special forces" class in the World Math Day in March of 2012..
    It was great watching our students get excited and get into math.  That doesn't happen too often; at least not as often as it should.  This is just another great example of how digital technology can boost student interest and motivation.  Plus, since kids were competing against other students around the country, they got a real-life look at the people they'll be encountering, and competing with for jobs and stuff, when they get older. 
    I truly believe that our school, and the whole district, would be greatly served by purchasing licenses to use Mathletics, or any of Voyager Learning Systems' programs.  No, I'm not a paid endorser.  I've just seen the power of the programs first-hand in the 4 years I've been involved in the American Math Challenge and World Math Day events this company puts on.  I've seen it boost kids' skills and desire to excel immensely in just the few short weeks we've had access to these systems over the years.  And yes, I hope some of the people in charge of this type of stuff read this and truly think about it. 

    "And that's all I got to say about that . . ."
Sorry, I watched Forrest Gump again the other day.  Couldn't help myself.

PS.  IF YOU DON'T KNOW THE EVENTS OR PROGRAMS I'M TALKING ABOUT, FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.  WORLD MATH DAY IS COMING IN EARLY MARCH 2012.  IT'S A GREAT MATH EVENT.  DON'T MISS IT!
Antonio grimmett
10/19/2011 07:03:14 am

so that means the people who worked based on this will do it

Reply
10/28/2011 01:30:20 pm

So, what's been happening lately?
I am trying to get my students to finish a keynote about band instruments. A couple of the kids are getting pretty good and creating slides and adding voice-overs.

Reply
Nameli Tautolo
11/3/2011 12:06:04 pm

CONGRATS TO ALL!

Reply
Raymond Gomez
1/1/2012 09:35:42 am

...too bad i wasnt there

Reply
Nameli
8/10/2012 11:55:14 am

I miss school

Reply



Leave a Reply.